You are here

One Good Chair

The One Good Chair Design Competition is an annual furniture 
design event which the Sustainable Furnishings Council co-sponsors.  
The competition focuses on the lounge chair or similar 
casual seating—simple objects which aid the body in the act 
of sitting.

One Good Chair Winner Eric Ton, Zpine Chair, pictured with illustrious judges Kira Gould, Sashi Caan, Zem Joaquin, and Sarah Backhouse 

Less is More: One Good Chair Winners Announced 
at Winter Las Vegas Market 
Designers demonstrate that minimal materials can result in maximum comfort

AT LAS VEGAS MARKET -- January 28, 2011 -- Two chairs took the "gold" at World Market Center Las Vegas this week, during the third annual "One Good Chair" competition, sponsored by World Market Center Las Vegas and the Sustainable Furnishings Council. Eric Tong's Zpinechair received the grand prize and Juan Mercado's RE_Flex chair won in the People's Choice category.

A discussion and awards ceremony took place Wednesday, January 26 at World Market Center Las Vegas during Winter Las Vegas Market, January 24-28.

Minimum|maximim was this year's theme, and designers from around the world were invited to create a chair that managed to preserve natural resources while also amplifying human delight. The goals of the competition revolved around minimizing material, production, shipping and assembly while maximizing comfort, utility, durability and beauty. Sustainable Furnishings Council members, including The Phillips Collection and Handy Living, created prototypes of some of the finalists' designs.

2010 Sponsors:


2010 Finalists:

Eric Tong, Pitt Berkemeyer, Georg Thesing, Helena Bueno, Heinz Muller, Juan Mercado & Tom Fereday

Click here to see the winning designs and the semi-finalists.


2009 Winners:

 Andrej Blazon, Azul Cadenas, and Helene Cany

Click here to see the winning designs.


2008 Winners:

Jessica Konawicz and Jittasak Narknisorn

Click here to see the winning designs.